Associate Professor Eng H. Ooi is a specialist Ear Nose and Throat (ENT) Surgeon with a private practice at Flinders Private Hospital and a public appointment at Flinders Medical Centre.

Current positions
• Head of ENT surgery at Flinders Medical Centre
• Program director of the Flinders Rhinology fellowship, an internationally recognised fellowship training surgeons advanced endoscopic sinus and skull base surgery
• Head and Neck Cancer Multidisciplinary member at Flinders Medical Centre
• Associate Professor at Flinders University
• Chair of the SA ENT training committee in charge of ENT surgical training
• Member of the physiology committee setting the exam standard for the RACS exam for ENT trainees in Australia

Qualifications: FRACS, PhD, M.B.B.S

Associate Professor Eng Ooi sees general paediatric and adult patients including tonsillitis, ear infections, sinusitis, snoring, head and neck cancers.

Special interests: Chronic sinusitis, Endoscopic skull base surgery (pituitary and other brain tumours), Head & Neck, Parotid, Submandibular, Thyroid, snoring and sleep apnoea surgery.

Associate Professor Eng Ooi graduated from the University of Adelaide Medical School. He is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (F.R.A.C.S.) in Otolaryngology Head and Neck surgery (ENT). He completed his training in Adelaide, South Australia and Darwin, Northern Territory. He is also a qualified surgeon scientist having completed a PhD thesis researching the innate immunity changes in chronic rhinosinusitis.

He then undertook further subspecialisation fellowship training with the University of Toronto in Rhinology, Endoscopic Skull Base, Head and Neck Surgery. This has allowed A/Professor Eng Ooi to bring back surgical skills, knowledge and research experience from Toronto to Adelaide.

Research highlights:

  1. Research publications
  2. Garnett Passe and Rodney Williams Project Grants
  3. Flinders University Health Sciences Research Grants
  4. Mark Jolly Travelling Fellowship (SAPMEA)
  5. Marjorie Hooper scholarship (RACS)
  6. Garnett Passe and Rodney Williams Memorial Foundation scholarship
  7. Faculty of Health Sciences Divisional Scholarship (University of Adelaide)